American Society of Cinematographers Awards 2013: 27th Annual ASC Winners

By on February 11, 2013 in Film Award, Television Show Award with 0 Comments

Skyfall Movie Banner

The winners for the 27th Annual American Society of Cinematographers Awards have been announced. The 2013 American Society of Cinematographers Awards winners were released “from a educational, cultural, and professional organization…Membership is by invitation and is extended only to directors of photography and special effects experts with distinguished credits in the film industry.”

The winners of the 2013 American Society of Cinematographers Awards:

Roger Deakins, ASC, BSC

Florian Hoffmeister
PBS’Masterpiece presentation of Great Expectations

“It’s been an amazing welcome and a good way to remember why we do what we do”, said the first-time ASC nominee, who won an Emmy for the show last year.

Balazs Bolygo, HSC
Cinemax’s Hunted (“Mort”)
Kramer Morgenthau, ASC
HBO’sGame of Thrones (“The North Remembers”)

“Thanks to HBO for putting the bar so high on television…and the very inspiring material”. Morgenthau says, taking his first ASC win in his fourth nomination. Bolygo, a first-time nominee, thanked his wife “for allowing me to chase this mistress called cinema”.

Bradford Lipson
FX’s Wilfred (“Truth”)

Right off the bat, the first-time nominee and winner warned the audience that because “I’m new to this”, he might go long. He did, thanking everyone on Wilfred, his family and the ASC. But he made a point of thanking all the cinematographers he gaffered for before becoming one himself. A nice touch and, if the applause in the ballroom was an indication, well appreciated.

ASC Lifetime Achievement Award
Dean Semler, ASC, ACS
Said surprise presenter Jolie: “Every day I learned something from Dean. Dean inspires us to make the kind of work we dream of”. The crowd goes nuts at the end of Sembler’s best-of reel, coming to their feet to cheer. “Angie, you’re amazing and we’re so glad you’re here”, Semler said upon taking the stage. “This award has to be the greatest any cinematographer can reach for”.

ASC International Achievement Award
Robby Müller, NSC, BVK

Müller is sick and isn’t in attendance. Natasha Kinski (who worked with the DP on Paris, Texas) and director Steve McQueen present the honor to the lenser behind films like Repo Man, Mad Dog And Glory, 24 Hour Party People and Breaking The Waves. “Sadly Robby cannot be here due to illness,” McQueen said before a best-of reel is shown.

ASC Career Achievement in Television Award
Rodney Charters, ASC, CSC

Charters (24, Shameless, Dallas) gets the first standing ovation of the night as the New Zealand-born DP accepts his career honor. “We must salute everything Kodak and Fuji have done for our industry”, Charter said to a big reaction. “Thanks to Kiefer and the entire 24 family”, he added of the Fox series he lensed for several seasons. “I love actors and want to thank all of them for hitting their mark and finding my light”.

ASC Presidents Award
Curtis Clark, ASC

Clark gets a big response from the crowd by twice calling the move from film to digital the “most difficult transition in the history of filmmaking.” The soft-spoken head of the ASC’s Technology Committee told the ballroom he was “honored by this special award.”

Source: Movie Website

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

About the Author

About the Author: A Political Science and MBA grad who started FilmBook during an eCommerce B-School course in 2008. Cinema and TV addict. Former writer at Empire Movies, Blogcritics, and Alternative Film Guide. In addition to writing for FilmBook, he also edits the copy published on the website, manages its writing staff, manages the back-end operations, site finances, its social network accounts, and works with publicists, actors, and companies on press coverage and promotions. He has also created .


If you enjoyed this article, subscribe now to receive more just like it.

%d bloggers like this: