British Academy Film Awards 2013: 16th Annual BAFTA Winners

| February 11, 2013 | 0 Comments

Ben Affleck Bryan Cranston Argo

The winners for the 16th Annual British Academy Film Awards have been announced. The 2013 British Academy Film Awards winners are “presented in an annual award show hosted by the British Academy of Film and Television Arts…[and are used for] rewarding the best work of any nationality seen on British cinema screens during the preceding year…as well as excellence in…television, television craft, video games and forms of animation.”

The winners of the 2013 British Academy Film Awards:

Argo was named Best Film at tonight’s EE British Academy Film Awards hosted by Stephen Fry, held at London’s Royal Opera House. Ben Affleck won the Director BAFTA and the film also took the Editing award.

Les Misérables won four BAFTAs: Production Design, Sound, Make Up & Hair and Supporting Actress for Anne Hathaway.

Amour won the award for Film Not in the English Language and Emmanuelle Riva won Leading Actress. Leading Actor was awarded to Daniel Day-Lewis for Lincoln.

Christoph Waltz won Supporting Actor for his performance in Django Unchained and the film’s writer/director Quentin Tarantino won the Original Screenplay BAFTA.

Outstanding British Film and Original Music were awarded to Skyfall. Life of Pi won the Cinematography and Special Visual Effects BAFTAs.

Anna Karenina won the Costume Design award. Silver Linings Playbook writer/director David O. Russell took home the Adapted Screenplay BAFTA.

Director Bart Layton and Producer Dimitri Doganis received the award for Outstanding Debut by a British Writer, Director or Producer for their first feature film The Imposter.

Searching for Sugar Man received the Documentary award, and Brave took home the Animated Film BAFTA.

The EE Rising Star Award, voted for by the public, was presented to Juno Temple.
The Making of Longbird won the Short Animation award and the Short Film award was presented to Swimmer.

Tessa Ross received the award for Outstanding British Contribution to Cinema. The Fellowship, the highest accolade which the Academy can bestow, was presented to Alan Parker.

Source: Movie Website

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Category: Film Award

About the Author ()

A Political Science and MBA grad who started FilmBook during an eCommerce B-School course in 2008. Cinema and TV addict. Former writer at Empire Movies, Blogcritics, and Alternative Film Guide. In addition to writing for FilmBook, he also edits the copy published on the website, manages its writing staff, manages the back-end operations, site finances, its social network accounts, and works with publicists, actors, and companies on press coverage and promotions. He has also created
%d bloggers like this: