Chiwetel Ejiofor 12 Years a Slave

Indiana Film Journalists Association Awards 2013: IFJA Annual Winners

Chiwetel Ejiofor 12 Years a Slave

The winners of the annual Indiana Film Journalists Association Awards have been announced. The 2013 Indiana Film Journalists Association (IFJA) Awards are from an “organization of Indiana-based journalists and broadcasters who specialize in film criticism and commentary.”

The full listing of the 2013 Indiana Film Journalists Association Awards winners:

Best Film

Winner: “12 Years a Slave”
Runner-Up: “Her”

Other Finalists (listed alphabetically):

“All Is Lost”
“Before Midnight”
“Captain Phillips”
“Frances Ha”
“Spring Breakers”
“The Wolf of Wall Street”

Best Animated Feature

Winner: “Frozen”
Runner-Up: “The Wind Rises”

Best Foreign Language Film

Winner: “Blue is the Warmest Color”
Runner-Up: “The Grandmaster”

Best Documentary

Winner: “The Act of Killing”
Runner-Up: “Stories We Tell”

Best Original Screenplay

Winner: Spike Jonze, “Her”
Runner-Up: Peter Morgan, “Rush”

Best Adapted Screenplay

Winner: Richard Linklater, Ethan Hawke and Julie Delpy, “Before Midnight”
Runner-Up: John Ridley, “12 Years a Slave”

Best Director

Winner: Steve McQueen, “12 Years a Slave”
Runner-Up: Spike Jonze, “Her”

Best Actress

Winner: Adele Exarchopoulos, “Blue is the Warmest Color”
Runner-Up: Brie Larson, “Short Term 12″

Best Supporting Actress

Winner: Jennifer Lawrence, “American Hustle”
Runner-Up: June Squibb, “Nebraska”

Best Actor

Winner: Chiwetel Ejiofor, “12 Years a Slave”
Runner-Up: Matthew McConaughey, “Dallas Buyers Club”

Best Supporting Actor

Winner: Barkhad Abdi, “Captain Phillips”
Runner-Up: Jeremy Renner, “American Hustle”

Best Musical Score

Winner: Hans Zimmer, “12 Years a Slave”
Runner-Up: Hans Zimmer, “Rush”

Original Vision Award

Winner: “Her”
Runner-Up: “Gravity”

The Hoosier Award

“Medora,” Andrew Cohn and Davy Rothbart, directors

(As a special award, no runner-up is declared in this category.)

Leave your thoughts on Indiana Film Journalists Association Awards winners below in the comments section. For more Indiana Film Journalists Association Awards photos, videos, and information, visit our Indiana Film Journalists Association Awards Page, follow us on TwitterTumblr, or “like” us on Facebook.

Source: Indianafilmjournalists

About the author

Rollo Tomasi

Editor-in-chief of,, and

View all posts