Rome Film Festival Awards 2013: 8th Annual Winners

By on November 18, 2013 in Film Festival with 0 Comments

Ronney Mara Scarlett Johansson Rome Film Festival 2013 Premiere

The winners of the 8th Annual Rome Film Festival Awards have been announced. The 2013 Rome Film Festival Awards were “made possible by the support of the President of the Italian Republic and is produced by Fondazione Cinema per Roma…The Official Selection of the Festival consist[ed] of an international Competition, an Out of Competition section with the selection of 2013 gala screenings, the CinemaXXI competitive section, dedicated to new trends in world cinema, and the Prospettive Doc Italia competition, a survey of new directions in Italian documentary filmmaking.”

The winners of the 2013 Rome Film Festival Awards:


The International Jury, chaired by James Gray and composed of Verónica Chen, Luca Guadagnino, Aleksei Guskov, Noémie Lvovsky, Amir Naderi, and Zhang Yuan, assigned the following awards to the films in competition:

Golden Marc’Aurelio Award for Best Film: Tir by Alberto Fasulo

Best Director Award: Kiyoshi Kurosawa for Sebunsu kodo (Seventh Code)

Special Jury Prize: Quod Erat Demonstrandum by Andrei Gruzsniczk

Best Actor Award: Matthew McConaughey for Dallas Buyers Club

Best Actress Award: Scarlett Johansson for Her

Award for Emerging Actor or Actress: the entire cast of Gass (Acrid)

Award for Best Technical Contribution: Koichi Takahashi for Sebunsu kodo (Seventh Code)

Award for Best Screenplay: Tayfun Pirselimoğlu for Ben o değilim (I Am Not Him)

Special Mention: Cui Jian for Lanse gutou (Blue Sky Bones)


The CinemaXXI International Jury chaired by Larry Clark and composed of Ashim Ahluwalia, Yuri Ancarani, Laila Pakalnina, and Michael Wahrmann, assigned the following awards to the films in the CinemaXXI competition:

CinemaXXI Award for Best Film (reserved for feature-length films): Nepal Forever by Aliona Polunina

CinemaXXI Special Jury Prize (reserved for feature-length films):Birmingemskij ornament 2 (Birmingham Ornament 2) by Andrey Silvestrov and Yury Leiderman

CinemaXXI Award for Short Films: Der Unfertige (The Incomplete) by Jan Soldat

SpecialMention CinemaXXI Short Films: The Buried Alive Videos by Roee Rosen


The jury headed by Marco Visalberghi and composed of Christian Carmosino, Gerardo Panichi, Giusi Santoro, and Sabrina Varani, assigned the following awards:

Premio Doc It – Prospettive Italia Doc for the Best Italian Documentary: Dal profondo by Valentina Pedicini

Special Mention: Fuoristrada by Elisa Amoruso


The jury headed by Roberto Faenza and composed of Fausto Brizzi, Carlo Freccero, Alessandra Mammì, Valerio Mieli, Camilla Nesbitt, and Andrea Occhipinti assigned the following awards:

Taodue Golden Camera Award for Best First/Second Film: Out of the Furnace by Scott Cooper

Taodue Award for the Best Emerging Producer: Jean Denis Le Dinahet and Sébastien Msika for Il sud è niente


Relying on an electronic system, the Festival enabled the participation of the audience in choosing the winner of the BNL Audience Award for Best Film. The films competing for this award were those in Competition. The audience awarded the:

BNL Audience Award for Best Film: Dallas Buyers Club by Jean-Marc Vallée

Source: Romacinemafest

Tags: , , , , , ,

About the Author

About the Author: A Political Science and MBA grad who started FilmBook during an eCommerce B-School course in 2008. Cinema and TV addict. Former writer at Empire Movies, Blogcritics, and Alternative Film Guide. In addition to writing for FilmBook, he also edits the copy published on the website, manages its writing staff, manages the back-end operations, site finances, its social network accounts, and works with publicists, actors, and companies on press coverage and promotions. He has also created .


If you enjoyed this article, subscribe now to receive more just like it.

%d bloggers like this: